MONUMENTS

MONUMENTS

Beste klanten, om u een overzicht te geven van wat u kunt bezoeken in onze prachtige stad, geven wij u hierna een overzicht van de toegankelijke monumenten. Indien u meerdere informatie wenst kan U doorklikken naar de site van www.gent.be

Pagina: 1 2 3 4

Leopoldkaserne

Mit ihren dicken Mauern, den Zinnen, den Ecktürmen und Schießscharten sieht die fünfeckige Kaserne eigentlich wie eine befestigte Burg aus. Und dennoch hat ein großer Teil des Gebäudes heute nichts mehr mit der Armee zu tun.
Ganz im Gegenteil: Inzwischen hat das Hohe Institut für Schöne Künste dort Einzug gehalten. Im Marktgebäude befinden sich außerdem 12 Ateliers von bildenden Künstlern sowie 4 Proberäume für Musiker


Charles de Kerchovelaan / Kunstlaan - 9000 Gent

New Law Courts

2007 saw the opening of the new, modern law courts designed by the architect Stéphane Beel. Around 600 people work in this 6-storey building with its eye-catching glass façade.


Opgeëistenlaan 401 - 9000 Gent

Leopold Barracks

With its thick walls, battlements, corner turrets and embrasures, the five-sided barracks still look above all like a fortified stronghold. However, a large part of the building no longer has anything to do with the army. On the contrary: these days the Higher Institute of Fine Arts has made its home there. This building also hosts 12 workshops for graphic artists and 4 rehearsal rooms for musicians.


Charles de Kerchovelaan / Kunstlaan - 9000 Gent

Minard Theatre

Romain De Coninck, founder and driving force behind the Minard, keeps a permanent watch over his popular theatre. The wonderful entrance hall has been maintained and the hall fully modernised. The evening’s performance is mulled over around the fine oval bar until the early hours.


Walpoortstraat 15 - 9000 Gent

The Big Cannon

This impressive cast-iron cannon weighs 12,500 kg and is known in popular parlance as the ‘dulle griet’ (evil woman). It does have a big mouth but that’s as far as the evil goes, as it has never been fired. It was too often used as a rubbish bin or a bed for drunkards (the eponymous café De Dulle Griet proudly sells more than 250 types of beer), so the barrel was permanently closed a few years ago.


Groot Kanonplein - 9000 Gent

Rabot

In 1488, Maximilian of Austria took advantage of a weak point in Ghent’s defences to seize the city. When, after 40 days of siege, his army withdrew without having accomplished their mission, the city authorities used the opportunity to strengthen the central building by means of two towers. This splendid building was recently


Opgeëistenlaan 1 - 9000 Gent

Carmelite Monastery

The Carmelite Monks form a living community in Ghent. The 18th-century monastery church can be visited freely and the adjoining garden by request. Those who enjoy the exceptional peace and quiet can even stay the night here. The guesthouse makes an original base for a stay in the city.


Burgstraat 46 - 9000 Gent

Augustine Monastery

The home of the Augustines was founded in 1296 when the Bishop of Tournai gave these preachers permission to build a monastery. St Stephen’s Church has developed into a popular place of pilgrimage where one will find St Rita’s listening ear.


Academiestraat 1 - 9000 Gent

Van Eyck Swimming Baths

Belgium’s oldest indoor swimming pool is also the newest: in 2001 it was fully restored so that the splendid art deco design is today more beautiful than ever. Furthermore, the swimming pool also retains its public function as a bathhouse: those without much space at home can pop round and enjoy a long relaxing bath. In the ‘Au Bain’ lounge bar on the first-floor, you can enjoy a wonderful view of the swimming pool and the marina.


Veermanplein 1 - 9000 Gent

Law Courts

To solve the permanent lack of space, a modern building for the law courts was built on the edge of the city. The old, neo-classical style edifice, built between 1836 and 1846, is for the time being also still in use.


Koophandelsplein - 9000 Gent

MONUMENTS

MONUMENTS

Beste klanten, om u een overzicht te geven van wat u kunt bezoeken in onze prachtige stad, geven wij u hierna een overzicht van de toegankelijke monumenten. Indien u meerdere informatie wenst kan U doorklikken naar de site van www.gent.be

Pagina: 1 2 3 4

Nouveau Palais de Justice

Le nouveau et moderne Palais de Justice, conçu par l’architecte Stéphane Beel, a été mis en service en 2007. Environ 600 personnes travaillent dans les six étages que compte ce bâtiment muni d’une remarquable façade de verre.


Opgeëistenlaan 401 - 9000 Gent

Caserne Léopold

Avec ses murs épais, ses créneaux, ses tours d’angle et ses meurtrières, la caserne pentagonale ressemble encore à une citadelle fortifiée. Pourtant, une grande partie du bâtiment n’a désormais plus rien à voir avec l’armée. Au contraire: l’Institut supérieur des Beaux-Arts s’y est installé. Ce bâtiment comprend également 12 ateliers pour artistes et 4 salles de répétition pour musiciens.


Charles de Kerchovelaan / Kunstlaan - 9000 Gent

Le théâtre Minard

Romain De Coninck, fondateur et inspirateur du Minard, monte à jamais la garde sur les escaliers du théâtre populaire. Le magnifique hall d’entrée a été conservé et la salle modernisée de façon optimale. Les clients restent papoter autour du joli bar ovale jusqu’au petit matin.


Walpoortstraat 15 - 9000 Gent

Grand Canon

Cet impressionnant canon en fer forgé pèse 12500 kg et son surnom populaire est ‘Marguerite l’Enragée’. Mis à part sa grande bouche, le canon n’avait pas grand-chose à mettre en avant car il n’a jamais tiré. Il a été bouché définitivement il y a quelques années car il faisait trop souvent office de poubelle ou de lit pour les poivrots (le ‘Dulle Griet’, café du même nom, se targue de proposer plus de 250 variétés de bière).


Groot Kanonplein - 9000 Gent

Rabot

En 1488, Maximilien d’Autriche exploite une faille dans les remparts de la ville pour s’emparer de Gand. Quand son armée revient bredouille après 40 jours de siège, l’administration de la ville renforce le bâtiment central à l’aide de deux tours. Ce magnifique bâtiment a été restauré récemment.


Opgeëistenlaan 1 - 9000 Gent

Monastère des Carmes Déchaussés

Les Pères Carmes forment à Gand une communauté vivante. Le prieuré du XVIIIe siècle peut être visité librement et le jardin sur demande. Les amateurs de tranquillité et de silence peuvent même y passer la nuit. Cette maison d’hôte est incontestablement un point de chute original pour un séjour à Gand.


Burgstraat 46 - 9000 Gent

Monastère des Pères Augustins

Le berceau des Augustins a été fondé en 1296, lorsque l’évêque de Tournai donna à ces ecclésiastiques l’autorisation de bâtir un monastère. L’église Saint-Stéphane est devenue un lieu de pèlerinage populaire, où les pèlerins trouvent une oreille attentive auprès de Sainte Rita.


Academiestraat 1 - 9000 Gent

Piscine Van Eyck

La plus ancienne piscine couverte de Belgique est aussi la plus récente: elle a subi une restauration complète en 2001 et ce magnifique bâtiment art déco est désormais plus beau que jamais. La piscine conserve en outre sa fonction publique originelle d’établissement de bains publics: les habitants des environs petitement logés peuvent toujours s’y baigner. Du bar lounge ‘Au Bain’ situé au premier étage, vous pouvez admirer une magnifique vue sur la piscine ou sur le port de plaisance.


Veermanplein 1 - 9000 Gent

Palais de Justice

Pour mettre fin au manque d’espace récurrent, un Palais de Justice moderne a été érigé aux abords de la ville. L’ancien bâtiment de style néoclassique, érigé entre 1836 et 1846, reste temporairement en service.


Koophandelsplein - 9000 Gent

Église Sainte-Anne

Après être restée cachée derrière des échafaudages pendant des années, elle peut aujourd’hui être admirée dans toute sa gloire lors des services religieux ou d’occasions particulières. Les fresques monumentales donnent à l’intérieur une ambiance byzantine orientale unique.


Sint-Annaplein - 9000 Gent